Eight move on for council seats in Southfield primary


Twelve candidates for the Southfield City Council were whittled down to eight in the Aug. 2 primary election.

Four seats are open, with three current City Council members hoping to remain and one former council member seeking a return, along with eight other interested candidates.

Voters were asked to select no more than four candidates.

Incumbents Myron Frasier and Sidney Lantz nabbed 2,810 and 3,522 votes, respectively, with Lantz earning the highest number of votes of all the candidates. Council appointee Linnie Taylor earned 2,061 votes and will move on to the general election as well. Former City Councilwoman Sylvia Jordan earned 3,279 votes and will see her name on the ballot in the fall, along with newcomers Jeremy Moss, Chris Terry, Ken Peterson and Daniel Brightwell. Moss was the third-highest vote-getter of all the candidates, earning 3,272.

The race is over for Sunsaria Baldwin, Steven Richter, Dwight Smith and Bernadine Trout.

The general election is Nov. 8.