Southfield Councilman Jeremy Moss starts 2014 with strong fundraising advantage for State House


Southfield City Councilman Jeremy Moss will start 2014 with a strong fundraising advantage in his bid for the open seat in Michigan’s 35th House District, according to his campaign finance report filed with the state Thursday.

“My campaign is fueled by the support of those who believe in my leadership as a City Councilman and who know I’ll be ready on day one to fight for our shared values as their State Representative in Lansing,” Moss, running for the Democratic nomination, said.

Moss’ report shows more donors from Southfield, which makes up most of the 35th House District, than any other Michigan municipality. His campaign ended 2013 with $25,422.73 raised in contributions and $23,748.31 still on hand.

By comparison, current State Rep. Rudy Hobbs started 2010 with $17,166.63 on hand the last time this seat was open with no incumbent running.

“I’m starting this election year stronger than any other candidate for the 35th House District seat in more than a decade,” Moss said. “But more than just a proven ability to raise the funds to wage a successful campaign, I have a track record of earning the trust of voters in this district.”

Moss was Hobbs’ successful campaign manager in 2010, leading the underdog to defeat an odds-on favorite who had a more than two-decade career in Southfield politics. A year later, Moss ran for a seat on the Southfield City Council, placing first among a crowded field of incumbents and challengers vying for four seats and becoming the youngest elected official in Southfield’s history at age 25.

Hobbs is not seeking re-election in the district that includes Southfield, Lathrup Village, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms and Franklin. Moss announced his candidacy for the seat last year and is receiving a groundswell of community support.

Key endorsers of Moss’ campaign include: former Southfield-area State Representatives Maxine Berman and Paul Condino; Southfield Councilman and former Mayor Donald Fracassi and Southfield Councilmen Myron Frasier and Ken Siver; former Southfield Councilmembers Roy Bell, Nida Samona, Barbara Talley and Linnie Taylor; Lathrup Village Councilwoman Maria Mannarino Thompson; Oakland County Treasurer Andy Meisner; Oakland County Commissioner Marcia Gershenson, whose district previously included Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms and Franklin; and Dr. Jonice Crawford Butler, president of the Greater Southfield/Farmington Area NAACP.

Moss, a lifelong resident of the district, is a longtime Democratic activist and serves as a Michigan Democratic Party state central committeeman, Oakland County Democratic Party board member and Southfield/Lathrup Village Democratic Club board trustee. In 2011, the Oakland County Democratic Party honored him as the “Young Democrat of the Year.”

Moss is also a board member at Congregation Beth Ahm, member of the Greater Southfield/Farmington Area NAACP and member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Task Force.